The Strategist

G7 countries to jointly study Omicron strain

11/30/2021 - 08:12

Health ministers of the G7 countries (Great Britain, Germany, Italy, Canada, the United States, France, and Japan) have decided to collaborate on a research of the novel omicron coronavirus strain. It's thought to be far more harmful and contagious than the "delta" variety, which is now the most common.

"According to preliminary evaluations, the world community is facing the possibility of a novel strain of COVID-19 with greater transmissibility, which necessitates immediate action," the G7 heads of health stated in a joint statement. 

"The ministers want to work closely with the World Health Organization and international partners in the coming weeks to exchange information on the omicron strain," the statement said.

The G7 health ministers' next meeting is set for December.

Following the discovery of the omicron strain in Africa and the start of its spread in Europe, governments began to alter their admission policies. The Winter Universiade 2021 in Switzerland has already been canceled in this regard.